Usage of Kinect to control Avatar

Aug 25, 2014 at 9:10 AM
Hi . i am new to kinect and i connected my kinect for windows with secondlife to control Avatar. I use kinect studio to initialise connect to the secondlife . I use CtrlAltStudio Viewer for the secondlife as my viewer. But the avatar is not moving as intended . Please help me
I dont know what should i do with kinect to control my avatar.
Coordinator
Aug 26, 2014 at 5:14 PM
Hi. ... Make sure you don't have any Kinect programs running then enable Kinect operation in the viewer: Preferences > Move & View > Movement. You should then be able to walk and fly your avatar with the gestures shown in: http://ctrlaltstudio.com/viewer#Kinect
Sep 19, 2014 at 12:09 PM
Hi.. The kinect is not sensing the movement . The gestures are not working properly with the secondlife. It is showing inconsistency with the movement. Sometimes it got fast . If i want to move forward and i try to walk then the avatar itself move backward. Also not possible to walk after i fly .
How can i get the movement controlled ...i need to move the avatar as i desire..Now it is not possible to move the avatar in the desired way ..
Coordinator
Sep 22, 2014 at 12:46 AM
Hi,
Firstly, make sure that the Kinect can see you properly; Kinect Studio may be helpful here.
You may like to try decreasing the sensitivity of the Kinect operation. You can do this in the viewer's Preferences > Move & View > Movement > Sensitivity (under the
Enable Kinect for Windows checkbox).
And you may want to reduce your maximum walk / fly speed in Preferences > Move & View > Movement > Walk speed.
To walk after flying, fly downwards until you land.
I hope this helps.
Sep 22, 2014 at 9:09 AM
Hi,

I have tried the above mentioned settings
i am using oculus rift with the kinect and the movement is not stable . I keep the sensitivity of kinect low then the speed decreased, but then if i want a stop inbetween and i show the stop sign , then it does not stop immediately.